Department of Political Science

  • About Department

    The Department of Political Science started functioning in 1987 with pass course and honours course was started in 1987. The department offers degree in Pass and Honours Courses.


  • Vision and Mission

    Vision: The Vision of the department of Political Science is to enhance excellence of knowledge and integrity among students with high leadership quality and dedication for social service.

    Mission:  The mission of the department of Political Science is to prepare students as

    Informed and thoughtful participants within the community as good citizens and sincerer professional in the work force.

    Dedicated social activist of the society and humanity.


  • Courses Offered

    UG (B.A Major/Honourse & General/Pass

    B.A (General).Duration: Three Years(1+1+1). From 2014-2015 Credit Based Six-Semester Degree Programme Started 

    B.A (Honours). Duration: Three Years(1+1+1). From 2014-2015 Credit Based Six-Semester Degree Programme Started


  • Intake Capacity

    B. A. Honours/Major seat capacity: 60

    B.A. General/Pass Seat Capacity: 500


  • Eligibility Criteria for Entry Level

    For admission in Political Science Honours, the candidate should have passed H.S

    A general candidate is eligible to apply in Political Science Hon's course if he/she has secured in H.S or equivalent exam. 40% or above in average along with at least 45% marks in Political Science or 35 % in average and 50 % in Political Science.

  • Candidate should have at least 50 %marks in H.S if he/she didn't have Political Science as elective subject in H.S.

    Selection would be on merit basis subject to the fulfilment of the state government reservation policy.

    Any one can switch from general degree course to honours course as per Tripura University norms.

  • Course/Programme outcome



Name Designation Qualification Specialization Image

Dr. Aparna De (HOD)


Mobile: 9436134659

View Profile



M. A. (Silver Medal Awarded).

Ph. D.
B. Ed., M. Ed. , DWED,

SLET and JRF qualified from West Bengal College Service Commission




Smt. Rojina Debbarma


Mobile: 9612958618



M.A. in Political Science



Indian Political Thought


Sri Apurba Kumar De


Mobile: 9436467921





M.A., M.Phil.

International Relation


Sri Srinibash Debnath


Mobile: 9436516167







International Relation


Sri Prahar Datta


Mobile: 9436561369








  • Facilities

    Desktop Computer with Internet connection, Smart Classroom, Departmental Library, Departmental wall magazine and Yearly Magazine for creative work for the students.


  • Seminar/Workshop Organized :


    1. Organized one student’s seminar on the theme “Gandhian concept of State” on 5th November 2019.  In the Seminar fifteen papers were presented by the students and most of the students of the department of Political Science (Honours and General) had participated.
    2. A Departmental Seminar is organised on the occasion of “National Unity Day” on 31st October 2019 in Government Degree College, Kamalpur. The “National Unity Day” 2019 commemorates Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel's 144th birth anniversary. In the Seminar Dr. Swapan Sharma, Secretary, Teacher’s Council, Dr. Aparna De, H.O.D. of Political Science, Dr. Dipankar Biswas, H.O.D. of Education and Smt. Rojina Debbarma, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science have delivered speech on significance of observation of   “National Unity Day” and life and work of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.


  • Project/Research


    A Survey Project titled “Socio-Economic and Political Status of Women in Tripura” was undertaken by Dr. Aparna De, Assistant Professor and HOD of Political Science in 2015-16 under the sponsorship of National Commission for Women, New Delhi and in supervision of the Tripura Commission for Women. The Project report was published in Book form titled “A Survey on -Economic and Political Status of Women in Tripura” by Laksi Publishers, New Delhi in 2018.
  • Departmental activities


    Establishment of Cloth Bank:
    As part of Institutional Social responsibility, the department of Political Science, Government Degree College, Kamalpur has created a ‘CLOTH BANK” to provide cloths to the needy people of the adjacent areas of the college. The Cloth Bank was established on 27th September 2019 and officially announced on 5th November 2019. Donation of new and old (usable) cloths is taken from anyone willing to help people through our initiative. By involving students of the department, it is desired that they will prepare themselves to serve the society in future. Cloths from the bank are distributed twice in a year to the needy people at their doorstep and the Cloth Bank remains open round the year for needy people. Anyone can take and donate cloth anytime in the Cloth Bank. 

    Study tour
    Tripura Legislative Assembly and Government Museum was visited by students of the Political Science Department on 28th February 2020, as a part of study tour. Sixty (60) students and all faculty members of the Department of Political Science have participated in the tour programme. Being student of Political Science, they have to study on law making process as a part of syllabus. When they visit in the highest law making body of the state, i. e. the Tripura Legislative Assembly House, their learning became more effective. The Government Museum of Tripura is the Mirror of ancient history and culture of Tripura. The student’s visit to the Museum made them interested to enquire about the historical past of Tripura.

    Activities of 2019- 2020